OPERATION CALAXIAN: Mission Rules Queries Thread

View previous topic View next topic Go down

OPERATION CALAXIAN: Mission Rules Queries Thread

Post  Eiglepulper on Sat Jan 29 2011, 06:52

Please use this thread to post up any oddities, rules questions or queries regarding interpretation of how something works in any Killzone Mission. To make it easier for others to try to help, please post the Mission's name, a rough title for your question/whatever, and then your question itself. It doesn't matter how simple or silly the question might seem; if it's posted here it's because the poster wasn't sure and is looking for help.

When answering a question, if would be great if you would quote the initial queries' rough titles so that we know what's being answered! A simple copy-paste in quotes would be sufficient.

I'll start with a couple of things which came up today in my game against Jamie:

Mission: Sentry Grid
Q1: Depth of players' deployment zones.
Q2: Correct procedure for Promethium Bombs use.
Q3: Cover saves

Q1: There is no specified depth for the Deployment Zones, but measuring the pictured ones suggest 8". Would this be too deep, and would 6" therefore be a better option?

Q2: Promethium Bombs' use is described as hitting automatically in the assault phase. They *cause* D3+3 wounds. Are these wounds just simply rolled for and then applied, or does this D3+3 show the number of "hits" which must then be exchanged for actual wounds, hence the T8 AP2 Ignore Invulnerable Saves stats?

Q3: Probably a silly question, but since Cover effects are not mentioned at all in the Killzone rules, do we assume that they work the same way as standard 40k?

Thanks for any help

Roger
avatar
Eiglepulper

Join date : 2010-08-20
Posts : 292
Age : 58
Location : Carrickfergus

Back to top Go down

Re: OPERATION CALAXIAN: Mission Rules Queries Thread

Post  Neil on Sat Jan 29 2011, 09:35

I will leave this to 1 of the serious 40k players to tackle properly but in my own opinion

a) if you think it should be 6 and have playtested it then we can go with 6, just amend the missions rules someone please
b)I have no idea! this is def a full time 40k player question
c)Thats the way we have been playing it, so we stick with it, unless someone else has a cunning plan

_________________
Neil (Neil)
AGC Head of Wargaming
avatar
Neil

Join date : 2010-06-24
Posts : 989
Age : 37

Back to top Go down

Re: OPERATION CALAXIAN: Mission Rules Queries Thread

Post  Ironwolf on Sat Jan 29 2011, 11:06

For the second question, they hit and you roll for the wounds best your going to get is 6, there like the vindicator tank, it jet fires no need to roll on your BS skill

Rik

_________________
Rick (Ironwolf)
AGC Secrets of the Third Reich Co-ordinator
AAG POINTMAN For FoF
avatar
Ironwolf

Join date : 2010-10-09
Posts : 692
Age : 38
Location : The Fang

Back to top Go down

Re: OPERATION CALAXIAN: Mission Rules Queries Thread

Post  Eiglepulper on Sat Jan 29 2011, 23:45

Jamie and my query behind #2 was "If you auto hit and (auto) cause D3+3 wounds, why do they have a Strength value for the PB? Are you expected to roll the D3+3 and then roll Str8 vs T8 to see which ones actually caused damage?" All wounds will disallow a save of any kind by the Sentry Grid node. I'd rolled a six for my D3, which instantly wiped the node, and we thought "That's a bit naff."

It may well be just to speed things up, but we just weren't quite sure of the correct procedure. In the end we went with a dice roll to see which way we should play it: "yep, it's dead" or "Nope, roll str vs t".

On the depth of Deployment Zone question: we actually went with 8" because we reasoned that it would be hard enough for the two sides to reach the farthest Sentry Grid node without having to run all the way and thus do nothing else each turn.

Thanks for your input, Rik and Neil.

Roger
avatar
Eiglepulper

Join date : 2010-08-20
Posts : 292
Age : 58
Location : Carrickfergus

Back to top Go down

Re: OPERATION CALAXIAN: Mission Rules Queries Thread

Post  kwi on Mon Jan 31 2011, 19:20

S value would be needed against tanks maybe.

_________________
Karl (kwi)
AGC Flames of War Co-ordinator
I am not a geek, I am a Panzer ace!
Pledge 2011
Bought 154
Painted 51

NerdTests.com says I'm a Cool Nerd King.  Click here to take the Nerd Test, get nerdy images and jokes, and write on the nerd forum!
avatar
kwi

Join date : 2010-03-28
Posts : 1429
Age : 44
Location : Cushendall

Back to top Go down

Re: OPERATION CALAXIAN: Mission Rules Queries Thread

Post  Revic on Mon Jan 31 2011, 21:07

noticed something in the rules.

When a model runs we rolled a d6, same as standard 40k rules.

But in the killzone rules it says the model just moves 6 inches,.

avatar
Revic

Join date : 2010-09-03
Posts : 334
Age : 31
Location : Belfast

Back to top Go down

Re: OPERATION CALAXIAN: Mission Rules Queries Thread

Post  Velsharoon on Mon Jan 31 2011, 23:07

Revic wrote:noticed something in the rules.

When a model runs we rolled a d6, same as standard 40k rules.

But in the killzone rules it says the model just moves 6 inches,.


Good catch, makes it a lot easier.

_________________
Andrew (Velsharoon)
AGC Malifaux Co-ordinator

Pledge 2011

Epically failed as I simply sold off a load of old crap and bought a load of more crap! Curse you ebay...
avatar
Velsharoon

Join date : 2010-05-20
Posts : 768
Age : 31

Back to top Go down

Re: OPERATION CALAXIAN: Mission Rules Queries Thread

Post  Eiglepulper on Tue Feb 01 2011, 07:02

Same applies to moving through terrain. It's a set distance of 4.

Roger
avatar
Eiglepulper

Join date : 2010-08-20
Posts : 292
Age : 58
Location : Carrickfergus

Back to top Go down

Re: OPERATION CALAXIAN: Mission Rules Queries Thread

Post  sir_m1ke on Wed Feb 02 2011, 00:28

Revic wrote:noticed something in the rules.

When a model runs we rolled a d6, same as standard 40k rules.

But in the killzone rules it says the model just moves 6 inches,.


Good catch, apologies this was my fault as i didnt realise the run rules were different...

so now those genestealers have a guaranteed 18" charge range?? bollocks affraid
avatar
sir_m1ke

Join date : 2010-11-04
Posts : 232
Age : 29
Location : Ballyclare

Back to top Go down

Re: OPERATION CALAXIAN: Mission Rules Queries Thread

Post  Velsharoon on Wed Feb 02 2011, 00:37

sir_m1ke wrote:
Revic wrote:noticed something in the rules.

When a model runs we rolled a d6, same as standard 40k rules.

But in the killzone rules it says the model just moves 6 inches,.


Good catch, apologies this was my fault as i didnt realise the run rules were different...

so now those genestealers have a guaranteed 18" charge range?? bollocks affraid

Yeah genestealers are gonna be quite scary :D also explains the teeny deployment ranges

_________________
Andrew (Velsharoon)
AGC Malifaux Co-ordinator

Pledge 2011

Epically failed as I simply sold off a load of old crap and bought a load of more crap! Curse you ebay...
avatar
Velsharoon

Join date : 2010-05-20
Posts : 768
Age : 31

Back to top Go down

Re: OPERATION CALAXIAN: Mission Rules Queries Thread

Post  meleth on Wed Feb 02 2011, 04:41

That's going to be really terrifying in the last stand scenario I played with matt, Tyranid attackers with genestealers would be very scary coming in from all around you and with double the points that the defender has.
avatar
meleth

Join date : 2010-05-30
Posts : 747
Age : 32
Location : Larne

Back to top Go down

Re: OPERATION CALAXIAN: Mission Rules Queries Thread

Post  Eiglepulper on Sun Feb 06 2011, 04:12

Answer to the Promethium Bomb question, direct from Big Jim himself via PM on the Space Wolf Community website ( www.swchq.co.uk ):

Jim wrote:Yes, the Strength/Toughness roll is made, we were trying too keep the rules as familiar as possible for 40k players.

The way you guys have done it makes perfect sense, and if you prefer it that way go ahead use that method instead. Killzone is a set of houserules feel free to discard anything you want.

I'm going to reply to him and suggest that the wording in the rules should say that the Node is hit automatically with D3+3 hits, which then require a roll of Str vs T in order to determine which hits cause actual damage. That way the rule follows standard procedure of 40k rules for auto-hits. I'll post back with his thoughts. I know he's said that Killzone is just a set of house-rules, not rules set in adamantium, but it would clarify the situation and would thus have everyone singing off the same hymn sheet.

Roger

avatar
Eiglepulper

Join date : 2010-08-20
Posts : 292
Age : 58
Location : Carrickfergus

Back to top Go down

Re: OPERATION CALAXIAN: Mission Rules Queries Thread

Post  Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum